baby immunisation

A guide to immunisation for babies

In the United Kingdom, childhood immunisations are provided as part of the National Health Service (NHS) vaccination schedule. Immunisations are essential to protect children from serious and potentially life-threatening diseases. The schedule is designed to offer protection at specific ages when the risk of infection is greatest. It's important for parents and caregivers to ensure that their children receive all the recommended vaccinations.

The routine childhood immunization schedule in the UK includes vaccines for diseases such as:

  1. Diphtheria, Tetanus, and Pertussis (DTaP/IPV/Hib): Given at 8, 12, and 16 weeks of age.
  2. Rotavirus: Given at 8 and 12 weeks of age.
  3. Hib/Men C: Given at 1 year of age.
  4. Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR): Given at 1 year and a second dose at 3 years and 4 months.
  5. Men B (Meningococcal B): Given at 8 weeks, 16 weeks, and 1 year.
  6. Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV): Given at 8 weeks, 16 weeks, and 1 year.
  7. Men ACWY: Given at 14 years of age (school year 9).

The schedule may be subject to updates, so it's crucial to check with your GP or healthcare provider for the latest information. The vaccinations are usually administered by healthcare professionals, and parents are informed when their child is due for immunization.

Additionally, the NHS provides a comprehensive guide on childhood vaccinations, and it's recommended to follow the advice and schedule provided by healthcare professionals to ensure that your child is adequately protected. Remember that vaccines not only protect the individual child but also contribute to community immunity, reducing the spread of infectious diseases.

Back to blog

Leave a comment